Hi all, I saw a question in a thread and I figured...
# jobs
c
Hi all, I saw a question in a thread and I figured I'd answer publicly and invite others to give their answers. Bear in mind I am not a tax expert and this is not legal advice! ๐Ÿ˜„ The question: Why is this job US remote? I can work for less from elsewhere. Implication being, it's better for everyone if the job is globally remote. Answer: US taxes require the employee to have a US legal address. If they have a foreign address, the US company can become liable for taxes in the employee's country. The employer could move the employee to the US, but that's involved. Often companies will pay the employee through a local third party agency that handles payroll. Legally, that middle company is the "employer". Middle companies typically rip off the US employer, and neither the contractor or the employer get a ton of benefit out of it. Depending on your country's laws, you might also be able to set up a business as a contractor yourself and this is an easier way to handle the tax issues. If your country has favourable tax laws, you never know, the employer may choose to set up a legal entity in your country and pay you through that. I live in Switzerland, with super favourable tax laws, and no one has ever seemed interested. So... YMMV. Again, not tax or legal advice! Just my experience.
s
I know remote.com, costs 1800 $/year/employee that's not a huge cost, I do not know for other EoR (I'm hired through GoGlobal but I do not know the cost for the company)
thanks fir sharing, BTW ๐Ÿ™‚
I live in Italy, one of the hardest countries to hire from unfortunately ๐Ÿ™‚
c
Oh man, that's a bummer. I'm sorry to hear that! And thank you for the link. Here's Switzerland on the remote.com cost of living index. ๐Ÿ˜ญ This is my struggle with contract work, offers can't come up to cost of living. Got charged $12 for a bag of ice the other week. I'm not even kidding. ๐ŸงŠ
s
I know, you are way more in trouble than me ๐Ÿ˜ž
c