I am curious about how organizations have defined ...
# platform-leadership
t
I am curious about how organizations have defined the mission of their platform team and the problem space for the platform itself. Has anyone started with user stories from a C-level perspective? I am particularly interested in high-level stories from CIO and product perspectives.
k
Following
w
Hey I’m a group level manager for our platform group at 99designs. Do you mean user stories focused on internal staff e.g. “as a CIO, I want … , so that I….”
t
Yes, user stories for internal staff. I am specifically looking for stories at the C-level. I am very interested in how orgs are framing the problem statement that a platform solves at that level. What I am trying to do is frame the business need for a platform as user stories and am wondering how others have done so.
g
Hey Troy, that’s a really good question. I’m leading Cloud Platform Engineering in Citrix and I’ve seen in our backlogs stories coming both from internal and also external needs - in cases where the platform can enable something for the customer directly. An example for C-level asks I’ve seen both for us but also in other companies is observability (and SLO) features of the platform, i.e., as a Chief Customer Officer, I want to be able to view metrics of the user experience in terms availability and performance of critical user journeys/paths
k
Think about what a CIO is interested in, right. They might want to see what infrastructure is being used in the org, how much is costs, what software is being developed, or 3rd party integrations brought in to achieve business goals, they might want to know what tech stacks different teams are using, they might want to see the overall spend for each team. how many engineers each team has, how much time they spend on support vs actual development
so like any customer, you can apply the “what job of the CIO can be done using my product”
w