I'm starting to dig into the FinOps topic - any re...
# product-management
s
I'm starting to dig into the FinOps topic - any recommendation? on great reading or tooling? from a platform engineering point of view, but also from a SaaS product point of view: tracking costs per account/tenant on our SaaS platform.
m
From a practical standpoint, it all starts with where you're running things. If you're on AWS, you need to do things a bit differently than you would on GCP or a datacenter.
s
AWS in our case
a
Gartner has been talking about FinOps in all their conferences. If you have access to the resources from Gartner, you can give it a try. PS: I was a Gartner Analyst in my previous role so if you want to connect with someone who cover platform Engineering, I can help as well.
m
for AWS the foundation is a strong tagging strategy, since their cost reporting tools really aren't that great. At a minimum you need something like a contact and project tag, but if you google around you may see better examples for your organization. Since you have tenants, that's a logical tag to have. Think about tags as data dimensions you'd want to report off of.
once you have that in place you're probably in a build vs. buy conversation. We elected to build because we have large spend on k8s and at the time, vendors didn't support it very well.
b