As I am not a developer myself, I was wondering if...
# product-management
a
As I am not a developer myself, I was wondering if there are others like me doing pm work for internal platforms? How common or uncommon is this? 😰
s
Project or product manager? If the former, then there's more but less success. I strongly consider coming to my talk on the role of the technical product manager 😉
💯 1
j
Yep, here as well! I think everyone in this channel 😄 But not too common yet. However, hopefully that's changing with the movement of "Platform as a Product".
☝️ 3
How are you tackling it hiring more PMs on the team @Areti Panou?
a
Comes down to leadership and experience. If you have a PM focus you can build a great system. Otherwise an alternative is a Engineering Manager. That can work. Just comes down to people in the right place with the right ability.
🙏 2
m
I’m a PM in platforms
👋 2
d
a
I do product discovery and stakeholder management but our tool is just one of many in the platform. I guess my question is how easy it is to understand developers' needs when you are not one yourself? But I see I am in good company here 😃
a
Listening
s
I think it helps being a developer or former developer, but you can still get to understand things like pain points. Ask developers to “demo” the stuff they don’t like.
I think as you work with them more you’ll build more empathy and understanding of the developer’s work, just like any subject matter.
j
Just being a dev isn't enough. Product discovery is still required :-)
💯 4
s
Product managers rarely get to join a new team where they understand the product deeply. It’s always a process - you can still gain all the knowledge / context you need without being a dev yourself. 🙂
d