https://platformengineering.org logo
#general
Title
# general
r

Regev Azriel

01/03/2023, 10:00 AM
Hi everyone, though I'm new to the concept of Platform Engineering, I'm by no means new to engineering team inefficiencies... My first intuition on PE is that it looks like an appealing promise but doesn't help to small R&D organizations cope with their inefficiencies. Small = up to 50-60 developers. I'd be pleased to get your feedback on such engineering teams, which problems you think they suffer from, and how PE aims to solve them. Looking forward to some good ideas 🙂
j

John Dietz

01/03/2023, 2:42 PM
generally disagree but i’m also not familiar with your small r&d org’s specific inefficiencies so it’s hard to challenge your stance. i agree that it may not be a fit for every organization, and there’s a point of complexity where it becomes more optimal to bridge the dev team needs to the ops team requirements (k8s/security/compliance/cloud infra) with a dedicated platform engineering discipline that focuses on enabling self service patterns for dev teams, but with the knowledge of the requirements of the ops teams. i’ve seen this need first hand in a 50 developer shop, but it was under circumstances of 4 separate dev groups within that org and high compliance requirements that they all had to conform to. every 50 developer team obviously isn’t organized the same way and every project doesn’t have the same compliance and infrastructure complexity burden, so it’s case by case in my mind. but 50 is nowhere near too small to take advantage of platform engineering in many environments.
a

Andrew Fong

01/03/2023, 4:37 PM